Skip to main content

'America's Got Talent' Finale on NBC Sept. 15

Pictured: Aidan Bryant
(Image credit: Photo by: Trae Patton/NBC)

Season 16 of America’s Got Talent wraps on NBC Sept. 15, as 10 finalists compete for the $1 million prize. The contestants are aerialist Aidan Bryant, singers Brooke Simpson, Jimmie Herrod and Victory Brinker, magician Dustin Tavella, comedians Gina Brillon and  Josh Blue, quick-change artist Lea Kyle, Northwell Health Nurse Choir, and World Taekwondo Demonstration Team.

The season began June 1. Simon Cowell, Heidi Klum, Howie Mandel and Sofia Vergara are the judges, and Terry Crews is host. 

The winner will be named at the end of a two-hour finale Wednesday, which begins at 9 p.m. ET/PT. Performers include Idina Menzel, Pentatonix, Bishop Briggs, George Lopez, Rico Rodriguez, Mat Franco and Jordan Chiles. 

The winner will join “America’s Got Talent Las Vegas Live” at Luxor Hotel and Casino opening this fall.

Spoken-word poet Brandon Leake won last season. 

America’s Got Talent was created by Simon Cowell and is co-produced by Fremantle and Syco Entertainment. Cowell, Sam Donnelly, Jason Raff and Richard Wallace are the executive producers.

Michael Malone, senior content producer at B+C/Multichannel News, covers network programming, including entertainment, news and sports on broadcast, cable and streaming; and local broadcast television. He hosts the podcasts Busted Pilot, about what’s new in television, and Series Business, a chat with the creator of a new program, and writes the column “The Watchman.” He joined B+C in 2005. His journalism has also appeared in The New York Times, The Philadelphia Inquirer, Playboy and New York magazine.