Mississippi Association of Broadcasters Names WAPT ‘Station of the Year’

Station of the Year trophy
(Image credit: 16 WAPT)

The Mississippi Association of Broadcasters has named Jackson's ABC affiliate 16 WAPT Station of the Year, the organization announced Wednesday (April 6). The award was handed out at the Excellence in Broadcasting Awards on Saturday, April 2. 

David Hartman took home Best Meteorologist for the station; Megan West and Keegan Foxx won Best News Anchor(s); Erin Pickens and Mississippi Matters won Best Public Affairs Program as well as the Television Public Service Award for the 2021 Water Drive and others.

The station, owned by Hearst Television, also took home multiple first place awards for commercial production and station promotion.

“We are so honored to receive these awards,” said Peter Keith, president and general manager of Jackson’s 16 WAPT. “Despite the challenges of a pandemic, historic ice storms, and the resulting water crisis, our team showed up every single day to serve the Jackson community. We are incredibly proud of 16 WAPT’s accomplishments and are honored to be recognized by our peers in Mississippi broadcasting.” ■

Chelsea Anderson
Assistant Content Producer

Chelsea Anderson has been with Future for two years. She started as an intern with NewBay Media/Multichannel News in 2015. During her time she wrote bylined articles and program reviews as well as helped with research graphics for the magazine. She later became News Assistant for Broadcasting & Cable in 2017 until 2020 when she became Assistant Content Producer. Chelsea graduated from Niagara University in 2016 with a Bachelor's in Communication Studies and a double minor in Writing Studies and Sociology.