Skip to main content

Charter's Rutledge Reelected NCTA Chair

Charter Communications chairman and CEO Tom Rutledge has been reelected chairman of the board of NCTA–The Internet & Television Association. 

Cable execs were in Washington this week for the Hall of Fame and NCTA's Near Future conference. 

Also reelected for second one-year terms on the board were Pat Esser, president of Cox Communications, as vice chairman; and John Skipper, ESPN president and co-chairman at Disney Media Networks, as secretary.

Dave Watson was elected to a first term as treasurer. He is president and CEO of Comcast Cable and senior executive VP of Comcast Corp.

Bob Stanzione, executive chairman of Arris, was reelected to a two-year term.

Elected at-large programmer directors were David Zaslav, president and CEO of Discovery Communications; Peter Rice, chairman and CEO at Fox Networks Group, and Josh Sapan, president and CEO of AMC Networks, each to two-year terms.

Bob Bakish, president and CEO of Viacom, was elected for a one-year term.

Elected as at-large system directors to new three-year terms were John Evans, chairman and CEO Evans Telecommunications, and Pat McAdaragh, president and CEO at Midco.

Nancy Dubuc, president and CEO of A+E Networks, and Alfred Liggins, president and CEO of Radio One and chairman of TV One, were named to at-large director seats for two-year terms.

Contributing editor John Eggerton has been an editor and/or writer on media regulation, legislation and policy for over four decades, including covering the FCC, FTC, Congress, the major media trade associations, and the federal courts. In addition to Multichannel News and Broadcasting + Cable, his work has appeared in Radio World, TV Technology, TV Fax, This Week in Consumer Electronics, Variety and the Encyclopedia Britannica.