‘Abbott Elementary’ Leads TCA Award Winners

ABC's 'Abbott Elementary'
ABC's 'Abbott Elementary' (Image credit: ABC/Pamela Litky)

Freshman comedy series Abbott Elementary climbed to the top of the class at the 38th annual Television Critics Association Awards, winning four awards including Program of the Year.

The series, which follows the exploits of several teachers at an urban public school, also won awards in such categories as Outstanding Comedy, Outstanding New Program and Individual Achievement in Comedy for series star and creator Quinta Brunson, the TCA said.

Abbott Elementary helped ABC lead all networks with four wins, followed by Netflix with two awards. 

The TCA also awarded CBS sitcom I Love Lucy with its Heritage Award, and honored Steve Martin and Martin Short with its Career Achievement Award. 

The TCA Awards winners were announced virtually on Saturday after the organization late last month decided to cancel its in-person TCA Summer Press Tour amid rising cases of the BA.5 COVID-19 variant in the Los Angeles area.

Also: TCA Summer Press Tour Goes Virtual 

“We are proud to announce this year’s roster of talented TCA Award winners,” Melanie McFarland, TCA president and TV critic for Salon, said in a statement. “Each of them played a vital role in making the 2021-2022 television season one of the best in recent memory. We sincerely congratulate all of our honorees, and we look forward to gathering in person once again in 2023.”

Here is the complete list of 2022 TCA Awards winners:

  • Individual Achievement In Drama: Mandy Moore (This Is Us), NBC
  • Individual Achievement In Comedy: Quinta Brunson (Abbott Elementary), ABC
  • Outstanding Achievement In News and Information: The Beatles: Get Back, Disney Plus
  • Outstanding Achievement In Reality Programming (tie): The Amazing Race, CBS; Legendary, HBO Max
  • Outstanding Achievement In Youth Programming: The Baby-Sitters Club, Netflix
  • Outstanding Achievement In Variety, Talk or Sketch: I Think You Should Leave with Tim Robinson, Netflix
  • Outstanding New Program: Abbott Elementary, ABC
  • Outstanding Achievement In Movies, Miniseries, Or Specials: Dopesick, Hulu
  • Outstanding Achievement In Drama: Succession, HBO
  • Outstanding Achievement In Comedy: Abbott Elementary, ABC
  • Program of the Year: Abbott Elementary, ABC
  • Career Achievement Honoree (tie): Ted Danson and Steve Martin
  • Heritage Award: I Love Lucy, CBS
R. Thomas Umstead

R. Thomas Umstead serves as senior content producer, programming for Multichannel News, Broadcasting + Cable and Next TV. During his more than 30-year career as a print and online journalist, Umstead has written articles on a variety of subjects ranging from TV technology, marketing and sports production to content distribution and development. He has provided expert commentary on television issues and trends for such TV, print, radio and streaming outlets as Fox News, CNBC, the Today show, USA Today, The New York Times and National Public Radio. Umstead has also filmed, produced and edited more than 100 original video interviews, profiles and news reports featuring key cable television executives as well as entertainers and celebrity personalities.