FCC Nominees To Get Vote July 21

The Senate has scheduled a vote for Tuesday, July 21, on the nominations of Mignon Clyburn and Meredith Attwell Baker as FCC commissioners.

The pair are expected to be confirmed after a fairly uneventful nonmination hearing July 15 at which both were praised and several Senators expressed their support and belief the two would not have a problem securing their seats.

Baker, a Republican, is the former head of the NTIA, while Clyburn, A Democrat, is a South Carolina public utility regulator and daughter of House Majority Whip James Clyburn.

John Eggerton

Contributing editor John Eggerton has been an editor and/or writer on media regulation, legislation and policy for over four decades, including covering the FCC, FTC, Congress, the major media trade associations, and the federal courts. In addition to Multichannel News and Broadcasting + Cable, his work has appeared in Radio World, TV Technology, TV Fax, This Week in Consumer Electronics, Variety and the Encyclopedia Britannica.