FCC Media Bureau Names Staffers

Mary Beth Murphy has been named deputy chief of the FCC's Media Bureau and Hillary DeNigro associate bureau chief, Media Bureau Chief Bill Lake said Thursday (Feb. 18).

“I am delighted that these two talented and experienced individuals have joined the front office team,” said Lake. “The Bureau has relied for many years on Mary Beth as Policy Division Chief and Hillary as Chief of the Industry Analysis Division. The expertise they bring to their new roles will be invaluable as we focus on the complex issues currently before us and those yet to come.”

Those complex issues include the just-launched set-top box proposal, the FCC's incentive auction and a just-launched inquiry into diverse and independent programmer access to distribution platforms.

John Eggerton

Contributing editor John Eggerton has been an editor and/or writer on media regulation, legislation and policy for over four decades, including covering the FCC, FTC, Congress, the major media trade associations, and the federal courts. In addition to Multichannel News and Broadcasting + Cable, his work has appeared in Radio World, TV Technology, TV Fax, This Week in Consumer Electronics, Variety and the Encyclopedia Britannica.