ACA Connects Re-Elects Patricia Jo Boyers Chairman

Patricia Boyers
Patricia Jo Boyers (Image credit: ACA Connects)

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Florida — ACA Connects said Monday (July 25) that it has re-elected chairman and vice chairman Patricia Jo Boyers and Mike Bowker to those positions for another two years, while five incumbent board members received new three-year terms. 

ACA Connects

Mike Bowker (Image credit: ACA Connects)

Boyers is president and CEO and co-founder of Boycom Vision, while Bowker is chief operating officer of Cable One, both member companies of ACA Connects.

ACA Connects

Leslie Brown (Image credit: ACA Connects)

“I am honored to continue as chairman of ACA Connects at a time when the challenges have never been more serious or consequential,” Boyers said in a press release. “As in the past, my role is to ensure that ACAC staff have the tools they need to work on our behalf and our members have all the information they need to ensure positive outcomes, especially as government broadband dollars begin to flow to the states.”

ACA Connects

Carla  Framil-Ferran  (Image credit: ACA Connects)

Small cable operators are facing several regulatory and legal challenges, including  major government action in promoting broadband deployment via the Commerce Department’s $42.45 billion Broadband Equity, Access and Deployment (BEAD) Program administered by the National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA).

ACA Connects

Ed McKay (Image credit: ACA Connects)

“I’m very pleased to continue to serve with Patty Boyers in these important leadership roles at ACA Connects, an organization that protects and promotes the interests of more than 600 independent video and broadband providers in the hallways of government in Washington, D.C., and increasingly across the U.S.,” Bowker said. “With a massive influx of government broadband money on the way, we will do everything we can to ensure this funding is used wisely in helping close the digital divide.”

ACA Connects

Drew Petersen (Image credit: ACA Connects)

ACA Connects president and CEO Grant Spellmeyer thanked Boyers and Bowker for their leadership and dedication to the organization.

“As ACAC’s new leader, I am truly appreciative that Patty and Mike have agreed to work with me and the ACAC staff over the next two years to build on the many successes we had over the past few years,” Spellmeyer said. “With Patty and Mike at my side, I am confident that ACAC can meet the challenges ahead in advancing the interests of our members.”

ACA Connects

Bob Wieand (Image credit: ACA Connects)

ACAC’s election results were announced today at ACAC’s annual Members Meeting at the 17th Independent Show here. The Independent Show is a  gathering that unites a range of industry participants, including company leaders, informative speakers, tech vendors and various supporters of the independent video and broadband industry.

In other election results, ACA Connects also elected five incumbent members of its board of directors to new three-year terms: Leslie Brown, SVP and general counsel, Breezeline; Carla Framil-Ferran, VP of legal, Liberty Puerto Rico; Ed McKay, executive VP and chief operating officr, Shentel; Drew Petersen, SVP, corporate affairs, TDS; and Bob Wieand, controller, Service Electric Cablevision. 

“The Board of Directors elected today have the talent and deep experience that will surely translate into future success for ACAC. Their advice and guidance will be invaluable in telling our Members’ story and highlighting all the great things happening in their markets and communities fueled by a light-touch, investment-friendly regulatory environment,” Spellmeyer said. ▪️

Mike Farrell

Mike Farrell is senior content producer, finance for Multichannel News/B+C, covering finance, operations and M&A at cable operators and networks across the industry. He joined Multichannel News in September 1998 and has written about major deals and top players in the business ever since. He also writes the On The Money blog, offering deeper dives into a wide variety of topics including, retransmission consent, regional sports networks,and streaming video. In 2015 he won the Jesse H. Neal Award for Best Profile, an in-depth look at the Syfy Network’s Sharknado franchise and its impact on the industry.