Skip to main content

TV Land Awards Honorees Announced

The Carol Burnett Show, The Bob Newhart Show, Soul Train and producer and show creator Aaron Spelling will be honored at the third annual TV Land Awards: A Celebration of Classic TV, being taped at The Barker Hangar in Santa Monica, Calif., Sunday, March 13, the network said Thursday.

The 90-minute special -- which recognizes shows and stars from television's rich history and is presented by Revlon Inc. -- will air with a special simulcast on TV Land and Nick at Nite Wednesday, March 16 at 9 p.m. (EST/PST).

Spelling will receive the “Pioneer Award”; Carol Burnett the “Legend Award”; Bob Newhart the “Icon Award”; and Soul Train the “Pop Culture Award.”

TV Land will also present awards in several other categories, including “The 2004 Future Classic Award.” Last year's recipient was Fox comedy series Arrested Development.