Skip to main content

Tech Emmy Awards, Nominations Announced

Eddy Hartenstein, former vice chairman of DirecTV Group, will be honored with the lifetime achievement award for technology and engineering during the 58th Annual Science, Technology and Engineering Emmy Awards presented by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

Hartenstein will receive his honor during ceremonies at next year's consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas.

During that ceremony, six Emmy Awards for achievement in technology and achievement, as selected by a peer-group panel, will be presented. These honorees are:

• RCA, which will be honored for pioneering development of on-screen displays for the setup, control and configuration of TV sets;

• Microsoft, Apple Computer, Adobe Systems and RealNetworks, for streaming-media architecture and components;

•Terayon Communication Systems, for pioneering development for combining multiple transport systems that are encoded using rate-shaping and statistical remultiplexing;

• Visible World and The Weather Channel, for the development and implementation of automatically assembled dynamic customized TV advertising;

• Gennum, for technology advances in serial-digital-interface solutions; and

• Rene Anselmo of PanAmSat, honored among privately owned and operated satellite companies offering international video services.

The Academy also announced the nominees for seven categories of interactive, on-demand, personal-media display and presentation technology. Those awards will be selected by a panel of judges. The nominees are:

• Outstanding achievement in advanced media technology for the synchronous enhancement of original TV content: DirecTV Interactive Sports; HSN Shop by Remote; and NBC Olympics Now powered by BIAP Systems.

• Advanced achievement, nonsynchronous enhancement of TV content: CNN Enhanced; Fantasy Football Tracker by BIAP Systems; Passions Vendetta at (; Sopranos: Crime. Organized by Deep Focus; The Cultivated Life: Thomas Jefferson & Wine, NetBlender; and ( Video Mixer.

• Best technology for nontraditional programs or platforms: Entriq Mobile Technology, Switched Broadcast Is Transforming TV, by BigBand Networks; Sling Media’s Slingbox; and Vid-Wave by Boxx Communications.

• Best personal-media display and presentation technology: Screen 3, by Hill &Knowlton/Motorola; Sectional Navigation Architecture, GoTV Network; and Xcross Media Box, Sony.

• Best on-demand technology over closed networks: Guided TV (ABC TV on Demand), Disney ABC Television Group; Moxie Adelphia On Demand Browser, Digeo; and Time Warner Cable's Start Over, by Time Warner, Concurrent Computer, BigBand, Harmonic and Scientific Atlanta.

• Best on-demand technology over public Internet: ( full-episode streaming player, Disney ABC Television Group; AOL Music's Top 11 Countdown Show; GameTap, Turner Broadcasting System; (; Stim TV by NPOWR; and Vongo by Starz Entertainment Group.

• Best use of commercials in nontraditional platforms: full-episode streaming player; Ravenstoke, Turner; and TiVo Interactive Advertising Platform.

The 58th Annual Science, Technology and Engineering Emmy Awards will be presented formally at the Consumer Electronics Show Jan. 8 in Las Vegas.