Skip to main content

Sweeney, Diller, Trebek Among 'Giants of Broadcasting'

The 11th annual Giants of Broadcasting, sponsored by the
Library of American Broadcasting, has named its 2013 batch of inductees for
their "excellence in the electronic communication arts." They are
Anne Sweeney, president of Disney/ABC Television Group; Alex Trebek, Jeopardy! host; Barry Diller, chairman
and senior executive of IAC; Morley Safer,
60 Minutes
correspondent; Dick Cavett, talk show legend; Jeff Smulyan,
founder and former CEO and president of Emmis Communications; Robert L.
Johnson, founder of BET; David E. Kelley, TV producer and writer; Richard E.
Wiley, former FCC chairman; Richard Leibner, founder and president of talent
agency N.S. Bienstock; and Carole Cooper, longtime agent at Bienstock.

The Giants will be inducted Oct. 16 at Gotham Hall in New

The Library of American Broadcasting has been
honoring leaders in the broadcasting industry annually since 2003. The current
list will bring the total number of inductees to 170.