‘Power,’ ‘Black-ish’ Big Winners at NAACP Image Awards

Starz’s Power and ABC’s Black-ish dominated the television category for the 49th annual NAACP Image Awards, held Monday night.

Including televised and non-televised awards, ABC won six NAACP Awards, which celebrate the accomplishments of people of color. Starz, TV One, HBO, Fox, Netflix and Spike TV took home multiple awards. 

Blach-ish won five total awards, including Best Comedy, while Power won three statuettes, including best drama, according to the NAACP.

Producer/Director Ava DuVernay (Netflix’s 13th, OWN’s Queen Sugar) won the Entertainer of the Year Award during the ceremony, televised live by TV One. In her acceptance speech, DuVernay recognized other producers of color such as Shondra Rhimes and Lena Waithe for developing, successful, quality projects featuring diverse images and stories. “This is our time,” DuVernay said.

NAACP Image Award Winners In the television Category:

Outstanding Comedy Series

"`black-ish" (ABC)

Outstanding Actor in a Comedy Series

Anthony Anderson - "`black-ish" (ABC) 

Outstanding Actress in a Comedy Series

Tracee Ellis Ross - "`black-ish " (ABC)

Outstanding Drama Series

"Power" (Starz)

Outstanding Actor in a Drama Series

Omari Hardwick - "Power" (Starz) 

Outstanding Actress in a Drama Series

Taraji P. Henson - "Empire" (FOX) 

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

Jay Ellis - "Insecure" (HBO) 

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

Marsai Martin - "`black-ish" (ABC) 

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

Joe Morton - "Scandal" (ABC) 

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

Naturi Naughton - "Power" (Starz) 

Outstanding Television Movie, Limited - Series or Dramatic Special

"The New Edition Story " (BET) 

Outstanding Actor in a Television Movie, Limited-Series or Dramatic Special

Idris Elba - "Guerrilla" (Showtime)

Outstanding Actress in a Television Movie, Limited -Series or Dramatic Special

Queen Latifah - "Flint" (Lifetime)

Outstanding News/ Information - (Series or Special)

"Unsung" (TV One) 

Outstanding Talk Series

"The Real" (Syndicated) 

Outstanding Reality Program/Reality Competition Series

"The Manns" (TV One)

Outstanding Variety or Game Show - (Series or Special)

"Lip Sync Battle" (Spike)

Outstanding Children's Program

"Doc McStuffins" (Disney Junior)

Outstanding Performance by a Youth (Series, Special, Television Movie or Limited Series)

Caleb McLaughlin - "Stranger Things" (Netflix)

Outstanding Host in a Talk or News/Information (Series or Special) - Individual or Ensemble

Roland Martin - "News One Now" (TV One) 

Outstanding Host in a Reality/Reality Competition, Game Show or Variety (Series or Special) - Individual or Ensemble

LL Cool J - "Lip Sync Battle" (Spike)

Outstanding Writing in a Comedy Series

Janine Barrois – “Claws” – Batsh*t (TNT)

Outstanding Writing in a Dramatic Series

Gina Prince-Bythewood - "Shots Fired" – Hour One: Pilot (Fox)

Outstanding Writing in a Television Movie or Special  

Abdul Williams - "The New Edition Story " – Part 2 (BET) 

Outstanding Directing in a Comedy Series

Anton Cropper - "`black-ish" - Juneteenth (ABC)

Outstanding Directing in a Dramatic Series

Carl Franklin - "13 Reasons Why" - Tape 5, Side B (Netflix) 

Outstanding Directing in a Television Movie or Special

Allen Hughes - "The Defiant Ones" (HBO)

R. Thomas Umstead

R. Thomas Umstead serves as senior content producer, programming for Multichannel News, Broadcasting + Cable and Next TV. During his more than 30-year career as a print and online journalist, Umstead has written articles on a variety of subjects ranging from TV technology, marketing and sports production to content distribution and development. He has provided expert commentary on television issues and trends for such TV, print, radio and streaming outlets as Fox News, CNBC, the Today show, USA Today, The New York Times and National Public Radio. Umstead has also filmed, produced and edited more than 100 original video interviews, profiles and news reports featuring key cable television executives as well as entertainers and celebrity personalities.