Skip to main content

NBC Leads Sports Emmy Pack

It was NBC's night at the 30th annual Sports Emmy Awards as the Peacock collected nine statues, the most of any network.
Cable was well-represented at the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences ceremony, held at Frederick P. Rose Hall in New York, led by eight for HBO, which trailed only the Peacock. ESPN earned four, while FSN and TNT garnered three and a pair, respectively. Other cable networks collecting an Emmy: ESPN2, NFL Network and Showtime.
Back on the broadcast side, Fox and CBS were tied for third overall, as both networks grabbed five Emmys. ABC had one Emmy.
NBC's coverage of the XXIX Olympiad netted four Emmys, including a statue for its live event turnaround from Beijing. also received one for outstanding new approaches sports event coverage from the Summer Games.
Dick Ebersol, chairman of NBC Sports & Olympics, was presented with the lifetime achievement award. Ebersol has led NBC Sports for the past 20 years and set the record for the most-watched event in U.S. history with its coverage of the Beijing Games, and the largest single event for Super Bowl XLIII.
HBO jabbed its way to three Emmys for its coverage of the Calzaghe-Jones 24/7 series.
CBS's NFL coverage and FSN's Sports Science series both won a pair of Emmys and were the only other programs to win multiple statues.
Check out the complete list of Sports Emmy winners here.