MTV Sets O Music Awards Nominations

Artists Frank Ocean and Beck lead nominations for MTV, VH1 and CMT’s fourth annual O Music Awards, premiering next month.

The online-based awards, which honor the artists, innovators and fans that are impacting music, technology and counter culture, will be livestreamed June 19 beginning at 7 p.m., with online voting ( launching today (May 16) and running through May 21st, said MTV officials.

Ocean and Beck lead all artists with two nominations. Categories include “Digital Genius Award,” “Fan Army FTW,” “Best Web-Born Artist,” “Must Follow Artist on Twitter,” “Best Music App,” “Too Much Ass For TV” and “Best Artist Instagram.”

The awards will play out June 19 during the course of a 24-hour “Live Music Day,” which will feature live performances from around the country. More than 50 bands will be showcased during the 24-hour period, said officials. Following the live performances, select clips will be available to view via each performer’s Artists MTV/VH1/CMT page.

O Award Nominees appear below:

Digital Genius Award (Winner: Artist)


Yoko Ono

Trent Reznor

Pussy Riot

Best Web-Born Artist (Winner: Artist)




Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Angel Haze

Best Music App (Winner: Developer)






Best Interactive Music Video (Winner: Artist)

 Linkin Park, “Lost in the Echo”

Beck & Chris Milk, “Sound and Vision”

Tanlines, “Not The Same”

Miranda Lambert, “Fastest Girl in Town”

Yung Jake, “”

Fan Army FTW (Winner: Artist)

 Tokio Hotel’s “Aliens”

Adam Lambert’s “Glamberts”

Ed Sheeran’s “Sheerios”

Justin Bieber’s “Beliebers”

Beyonce’s “Beyhive”

Demi Lovato’s “Lovatics”

Thirty Seconds to Mars’ “Echelon”

Selena Gomez’s “Selenators”

All Time Low’s “Hustlers”

Lil B’s “Task Force”

Best Music Hack (Winner: Developer)


Leap Orchestra


Tweet Concrete

Boil the Frog

Must Follow Artist on Twitter (Winner: Artist)

 Bruno Mars


Frank Ocean

Andrew W.K.

Erykah Badu


Carrie Brownstein


Ryan Adams

Richard Marx

Best Artist Instagram (Winner: Artist)


Tyler the Creator

Bon Iver

Mariah Carey

Riff Raff

Our Favorite Musical Cat (Winner: Cat)

Lil Bub

Keyboard Cat

Skifcha The Hipster Dubstep Cat

Collective Soul Cat


Too Much Ass for TV (NSFW Music Videos) (Winner: Artist)

 David Bowie, “The Stars (Are Out Tonight)”

Sigur Ros, “Valtari”

DIIV, “Wait”

Frank Ocean, “Pyramids”

Robin Thicke, “Blurred Lines”

Make a Band Famous

The So So Glos

Chill Moody

Syd Arthur

Striking Matches

Tatiana Owens

John & Jacob

Shy Glizzy


The Future

Darling Parade

Next Big Scene






Analog Genius Award (Winner: Artist)

Jack White


Neil Young


Most Inspiring Fan Outreach (Winner: Artist)

 Dan Deacon

Avicii x You

Eric Whitacre’s Virtual Choir

Alicia Keys

The “Friday, Friday” Award (Winner: Artist/Originator)

Harlem Shake (the faux dance)

Flash Mobs

Goats yelling like humans in music videos


Lip Dubs

R. Thomas Umstead

R. Thomas Umstead serves as senior content producer, programming for Multichannel News, Broadcasting + Cable and Next TV. During his more than 30-year career as a print and online journalist, Umstead has written articles on a variety of subjects ranging from TV technology, marketing and sports production to content distribution and development. He has provided expert commentary on television issues and trends for such TV, print, radio and streaming outlets as Fox News, CNBC, the Today show, USA Today, The New York Times and National Public Radio. Umstead has also filmed, produced and edited more than 100 original video interviews, profiles and news reports featuring key cable television executives as well as entertainers and celebrity personalities.