FX Digs First Shovel Of 'Dirt' March 2

FX will start spilling the second season of Dirt on March 2.

The series, starring Courteney Cox, as over-the-top celebrity tabloid editrix Lucy Spiller, will premiere in the Sunday night 10 p.m. (ET/PT) time slot, according to network officials.

The network has seven completed installments of the show, a co-production of FX and ABC Studios with Cox’s Coquette Productions. Like the first season, the show’s second campaign was contracted to run for 13 episodes before the Nov. 5 Writers Guild of America halted production.

The second season of Dirt continues where the first season left off: Spiller lays bleeding and unconscious after a brutal, in-home attack at the hands of actress Julia Mallory (Laura Allen), whose career was destroyed by Lucy’s Dirt Now title Photographer Don Konkey (Ian Hart) struggles to overcome his schizophrenia through medication as he is shattered by Lucy’s assault, while Holt McLaren (Josh Stewart), no longer living with Julia, ascends to A-list stardom. Elsewhere, neophyte reporter Willow McPherson (Alexandra Breckenridge) has ended her affair with Dirt Now publisher Brent Barrow (Jeffrey Nordling), but is no longer naïve.

Guest stars include Julian Acosta, Tom Arnold, Laura Allen, Ryan Eggold, Rick Fox, Ashley Johnson, Richard Karn, Sharon Lawrence, Will McCormack, Larry Miller, Jeffrey Nordling, Pablo Schreiber, Kevin Wheatley and Cox’s sister-in-law Rosanna Arquette in the sixth installment.