Comedians Square Off In ‘Reality Bites Back’ Series

Reality Bites Back, Comedy Central’s first unscripted competition series will premiere Thursday, July 17 at 10:30 p.m. ET, pitting 10 comedians against one another in a battle to see who can come up with the most outrageous parodies of popular reality shows and contestants.

Each week, one unlucky comedian will be booted off the show by host Michael Ian Black (pictured). The last contestant standing will be crowned “Lord of All Reality” and receive a $50,000 cash prize.

The 10 comedian contestants include Kyle Cease, Chris Fairbanks, Jeff Garcia, Red Grant, Tiffany Haddish, Bert Kreischer, Mo Mandel, Donnell Rawlings, Amy Schumer and Theo Von.

The series satirizes and pokes fun at such staples of the reality genre as American Idol, Survivor, The Amazing Race, The Biggest Loser and others.

“It makes total sense that the way Comedy Central would choose to get into the reality game is by making fun of it. The nice surprise that came out of making the competition real is that viewers actually root for a winner,” Lauren Corrao, Comedy Central’s president of original programming and development, said in a statement.

Reality Bites Back is executive produced by JD Roth, Todd Nelson, and Adam Greener of 3Ball Productions, with co-executive producers Matt Assmus and Tom Johnson. Lou Wallach and Daniel Powell serve as executives in charge of production for Comedy Central.