CNN Takes Honors At Women's Media Center

The Women's Media Center, which was co-founded in 2005 by Gloria Steinem, Jane Fonda and Robin Morgan, has named the honorees in its first Media Awards and CNN women swept the honors for best broadcast journalism.

The awards acknowledge "some of the women who are making a difference in media."

Under the heading of best "print and broadcast journalists," Christiane Amanpour and Candy Crowley were honored along with The New York Times Helene Cooper.

Bonnie Erbe (PBS' To The Contrary) and Rachel Maddow (MSNBC's The Rachel Maddow Show) were tapped as best broadcast hosts, while NBC's Tina Fey (30 Rock) got the nod for entertainment.

WMC will also take the opportunity of its first laurel-giving ceremony--a cocktail party June 17 at the Sackler Foundation in New York--to throw some darts as well.

It will also take not of what it calls the year's most sexist media moments: the absence of a female moderator at the presidential debates, what WMC calls the failure to create a diverse White House press corps, and the lack of diversity of Sunday public affairs hosts.

John Eggerton

Contributing editor John Eggerton has been an editor and/or writer on media regulation, legislation and policy for over four decades, including covering the FCC, FTC, Congress, the major media trade associations, and the federal courts. In addition to Multichannel News and Broadcasting + Cable, his work has appeared in Radio World, TV Technology, TV Fax, This Week in Consumer Electronics, Variety and the Encyclopedia Britannica.