Centric Unveils Soul Train Awards Nominees

Centric has announced the nominees for the 2014 Soul Train Awards, honoring R&B's most talented artists on Nov. 7 through performances, tributes and appearances.

Hosted by Wendy Williams, the awards show will air on Centric and BET on Nov. 30 at 8 p.m.

Chris Brown is set to lead with seven nominations, Beyoncé will follow with six and Pharrell Williams with five. Best R&B soul male and female artist, as well as song and video of the year will be announced in the set.

The event is part of Centric's Soul Train Weekend. The following events are as follows:

Thursday, Nov. 6: Kick-Off Reception with meet and greets featuring Soul Train Awards 2014 and Comedy All Stars Show talent

Friday, Nov. 7: Soul Train Awards 2014 with host, Wendy Williams

Saturday, Nov. 8: Centric Comedy All Stars Show hosted by Bill Bellamy, with more comedians and stars

Sunday, Nov. 8: The Soul Train Review, two live musical events with Kool and the Gang

Opportunities to watch a live rehearsal and access the red carpet at will also be available

For more information about tickets and the event, click here.

Produced by BET Event Productions and Sunseeker Media, the event is directed by Tony McCuin. Executive producers include, Paxton Baker, Tami Arasli, Derek Lewis of Centric, Bart Phillips from Sunseeker and David Koff and Jerry Letter from Soul Train Holdings. Kevin Hunter and Wendy Williams from Wendy Williams Productions, Inc. also serve as executive producers.

A full list of the nominees include:

Best New Artist

August Alsina

Jhené Aiko

LiV Warfield

Mack Wilds

Nico & Vinz

Sevyn Streeter

Centric Certified Award



Leela James

Luke James

Robert Glasper


Best Gospel/Inspirational Song

Help - Erica Campbell feat. Lecrae

I Can Only Imagine - Tamela Mann

No Greater Love - Smokie Norful

Real Love - Inspired People feat. Charles Jenkins

Say Yes - Michelle Williams feat. Beyoncé & Kelly Rowland

We Are Victorious - Donnie McClurkin feat. Tye Tribbett

Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year

Fancy - Iggy Azalea feat. Charli XCX

Hold On (We’re Going Home) - Drake feat. Majid Jordan

Loyal - Chris Brown feat. Lil Wayne & Tyga

No Mediocre - T.I. feat. Iggy Azalea

Pills N Potions - Nicki Minaj

Studio - ScHoolboy Q feat. BJ the Chicago Kid

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist


Janelle Monaé

Jennifer Hudson

Jhené Aiko

Marsha Ambrosius


Best R&B/Soul Male Artist

Chris Brown

John Legend


Pharrell Williams


Trey Songz

Album of the Year

Beyoncé - Beyoncé

G I R L - Pharrell Williams

Love In The Future - John Legend

Nothing Was The Same - Drake

The Electric Lady - Janelle Monaé

Xscape - Michael Jackson

Song of the Year

All of Me - John Legend

Drunk In Love - Beyoncé feat. Jay Z

Happy - Pharrell Williams

Hold On (We’re Going Home) - Drake feat. Majid Jordan

Love Never Felt So Good - Michael Jackson feat. Justin Timberlake

Loyal - Chris Brown feat. Lil Wayne and Tyga

The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award

All Of Me – John Legend (Toby Gad, John Stephens, Dave Tozer)

Happy – Pharrell Williams (Pharrell Williams)

Pretty Hurts – Beyoncé (Joshua Coleman, Sia Fuller, Beyoncé Knowles)

Stay With Me – Sam Smith (Steve Fitzmaurice, James Napier, William Phillips, Sam Smith)

The Man –Aloe Blacc (Khalil Abdul-Rahman, Sam Barsh, Aloe Blacc, Elton John, Daniel Seeff, Bernie Taupin)

The Worst – Jhené Aiko (Jhené Aiko Chilombo, Mac Robinson, Brian Warfield)

Best Dance Performance

2 On - Tinashe feat. ScHoolboy Q

Electric Lady - Janelle Monáe

Good Kisser - Usher

Loyal - Chris Brown feat. Lil Wayne & Tyga

Talk Dirty - Jason Derulo feat. 2 Chainz

Turn Down for What - DJ Snake & Lil Jon

Best Collaboration

Chris Brown feat. Lil Wayne & Tyga - Loyal

Chris Brown feat. Usher & Rick Ross - New Flame

Janelle Monaé feat. Miguel - Primetime

Michael Jackson & Justin Timberlake - Love Never Felt So Good

Robert Glasper feat. Jill Scott - Calls

Toni Braxton & Babyface - Hurt You

Video of the Year

Drunk In Love - Beyoncé feat. Jay Z (Hype Williams)

Good Kisser – Usher (Christopher Sims)

Happy - Pharrell Williams (We are from L.A.)

New Flame - Chris Brown feat. Usher (Breezy & Mike Ho)

The Man - Aloe Blacc (Matty Barnes)

The Worst - Jhené Aiko (Danny Williams)

Best International Performance (CENTRICTV.com)

Davido - Aye

Machel Montano - Ministry Of Road (M.O.R.)

Nico & Vinz - Am I Wrong

Sam Smith - Stay With Me

Shaggy feat. Ne-Yo – You Girl

Ziggy Marley - I Don’t’ Want To Live On Mars

Best Traditional Jazz Performance (CENTRICTV.com)

Audra McDonald - What a Little Moonlight Can Do

Gregory Porter - Hey Laura

Kenny Garrett - Pushing the World Away

Monty Alexander - Concierto de Aranjuez

Wynton Marsalis - Flee As A Bird To The Mountain (Live)

Best Contemporary Jazz Performance (CENTRICTV.com)

LiV Warfield- Stay- Soul Lifted

Najee feat. Meli'sa Morgan - In The Mood To Take It Slow

Robert Glasper feat. Jill Scott - Calls

Snarky Puppy - Lingus (We Like It Here)

Terrace Martin feat. Robert Glasper - It’s Yours

Vandell Andrew - Let’s Ride

Best Independent R&B/Soul Performance

Joe feat. Kelly Rowland - Love & Sex Pt. 2

Kelly Price - It’s My Time

LiV Warfield - Why Do You Lie?

Sebastian Mikael feat. Wale - Last Night

Shaliek - The Past

Terrace Martin feat. TY$, Tone Trezure - You’re The One