CBS Sports Salutes 75 Years of 'March Madness'

CBS Sports will celebrate the diamond anniversary of March Madness with a number of original programming specials.

Starting this month and debuting through the 2013 NCAA tournament, CBS Sports, CBS Sports Network and, in conjunction with the NCAA, will air a series of themed specials, under the banner “CBS Sports Presents 75 Years of NCAA March Madness” dedicated to the players, coaches and commentators who have made an impact on the Division 1 Men’s Basketball Championship.

The programming, featuring CBS Sports college basketball announcers, including Jim Nantz, Clark Kellogg, Bill Raftery, Greg Anthony, Greg Gumbel and Doug Gottlieb, tips on Dec. 29 with 75 Years: Behind The Mic from 2 p.m. to 3 p.m., a roundtable discussion in which myriad announcers share their tourney memories. In the ensuing hour, Nantz hosts 75 Years: A Coach’s Perspective, showcasing a panel of top college coaches reflecting on the tournament and reminiscing about their own experiences.  (see schedule below)

For its part, national cable network CBS Sports Network will air a trio of specials, starting on March 2 at 7 p.m., with The Ultimate 75-Year Bracket, a 90-minute studio show playing out the ultimate fantasy March Madness bracket with the best teams from the past 75 years. The five-part series, The 75 Greatest Moments in Tournament History, running from March 3-7, counts down the top plays/outcomes over the years, while the very best players will be chronicled with the one-hour March Madness: The All-Time Team on April 7 at 10 p.m. 

In addition, CBS Sports, CBS Sports Network and will feature a vignette series beginning Saturday, Dec. 29 that traces the history of all 75 years of the NCAA tournament, which CBS will cover along with TBS, TNT and TruTV.  During each day leading up to the 2013 NCAA tournament, a vignette will air that features a summary of one year’s March Madness tournament from 1939 through 2012. also will provide coverage and content from its “Eye on College Basketball” reporters.

Greg Gumbel hosts the other specials airing on CBS Sports:

Top 10 Coaches – Saturday, Feb. 9 (12:30-1:00 PM, ET)

Top 10 One-Hit Wonders – Saturday, Feb. 16 (12:30-1:00 PM, ET)

Top 10 Buzzer Beaters – Sunday, Feb. 17 (12:30-1:00 PM, ET)

Top 10 Upsets – Saturday, Feb. 23 (1:00-1:30 PM, ET)

Top 10 Champs That Never Were – Saturday, Feb. 23 (1:30-2:00 PM, ET)