Skip to main content

Cable Dominates Drama Category with Top Six Critics Choice Television Awards

Things got pretty dramatic for cable at the 2nd Annual Critics' Choice Television Awards Monday night.
Showtime's Homeland won for best drama series, with star Claire Danes taking home best actress honors.
Meanwhile, AMC grabbed three drama victories: Breaking Bad's Bryan Cranston for best actor; the show's Giancarlo Esposito for best supporting actor; and Mad Men's Christina Hendricks for best supporting actress.
Lucy Liu completed the category sweep for cable as best guest performer in TNT's Southland.
Travel Channel received a nice going away present as Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations took the award for best reality series. Bourdain will beginning a new weekend series on CNN early  next year.

FX's Archer was the top animated series. Meanwhile, Louis C.K. broke the broadcast stranglehold on comedy awards by garnering top genre actor role for Louie.
HBO scored a trophy as Julianne Moore was top actress in a miniseries/movie for her work on Game Change.
All told, NBC led the with five triumphs, including the best comedy for Community.  The Peacock was also able to preen over The Voice for best reality series -- competition, Late Night with Jimmy Fallon for best talk show, Parks and Recreation's Amy Poehler for best actress in a comedy series, tying Zooey Deschanel in Fox's New Girl and Parks' Paul Rudd for best guest performer in a comedy series.

ABC tied AMC for second with three wins: Both Tom Bergeron of Dancing With the Stars tied Cat Deeley of Fox's So You Think You Can Dance were recognized as best reality show host, while Modern Family stars Ty Burrell and Julie Bowen each won for best supporting actor/actress in a comedy series.

PBS also claimed a pair of Critics Choice Awards: best miniseries for Sherlock and top actor in the genre for the project's star Benedict Cumberbatch.
The awards were presented by the Broadcast Television Journalists Association at a June 18 dinner at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

The following is a list of the winners:
Comedy Series: NBC's Community
Actor in a Comedy Series: Louis C.K., FX's Louie
Actress in a Comedy Series: Zooey Deschanel,Fox's New Girl and Amy Poehler, NBC's Parks and Recreation
Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series: Ty Burrell, ABC's Modern Family
Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series: Julie Bowen, ABC's Modern Family
Guest Performer in a Comedy Series: Paul Rudd, NBC's Parks and Recreation
Drama Series: Showtime's Homeland,
Actor in a Drama Series: Bryan Cranston, AMC's Breaking Bad
Actress in a Drama Series: Claire Danes, Showtime's Homeland
Supporting Actor in a Drama Series: Giancarlo Esposito, AMC's Breaking Bad
Supporting Actress in a Drama Series: Christina Hendricks, AMC's Mad Men
Guest Performer in a Drama Series: Lucy Liu, TNT's Southland
Reality Series: Travel Channel's Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations
Reality Series Competition: NBC's The Voice
Best Reality Show Host: Tom Berg
eron, ABC's Dancing with the Stars and Cat Deeley, Fox's So You Think You Can Dance
Talk Show: NBC's Late Night with Jimmy Fallon

Animated Series: FX's Archer
Movie/Miniseries: PBS's Sherlock
Actor in a Movie/Miniseries: Benedict Cumberbatch PBS's Sherlock
Actress in a Movie/Miniseries: Julianne Moore, HBO's Game Change