Broadcasters Foundation Names Ward L. Quaal Pioneer Award Recipients

The Broadcasters Foundation has named the recipients of the Ward L. Quaal Pioneer awards and they include an eclectic group of radio and TV executives, as well as the founding family of B&C magazine.

The recipients, who will be honored at the April 22 during the National Association of Broadcasters convention in Las Vegas, are: FM radio pioneer James Gabbert, ABC Owned Television Stations President Walter Liss, Clear Channel Communications founder Lowry Mays, the Taishoff Family (including Sol, co-founder and his son Larry, former publisher) founders of Broadcasting (now Broadcasting & Cable) magazine, former Gannett Broadcasting president and BMI Board Chair Cecil Walker, and founder of the Cromwell Group, Bayard H. “Bud” Walters.

The award is named for iconic broadcaster Ward Quaal, longtime head of WGN in Chicago and a consistent voice in support of the broadcasting business.

John Eggerton

Contributing editor John Eggerton has been an editor and/or writer on media regulation, legislation and policy for over four decades, including covering the FCC, FTC, Congress, the major media trade associations, and the federal courts. In addition to Multichannel News and Broadcasting + Cable, his work has appeared in Radio World, TV Technology, TV Fax, This Week in Consumer Electronics, Variety and the Encyclopedia Britannica.