Skip to main content

Winfrey Wins NAB 'Distinguished Service Award'

The National Association of Broadcasters has tapped Oprah Winfrey for this year’s "Distinguished Service Award," which recognizes "significant and lasting contributions to the broadcasting industry."

Past winners include Cokie Roberts, Edward R. Murrow, Bob Hope and Walter Cronkite.Winfrey will be saluted at the NAB convention in Las Vegas April 19.

Contributing editor John Eggerton has been an editor and/or writer on media regulation, legislation and policy for over four decades, including covering the FCC, FTC, Congress, the major media trade associations, and the federal courts. In addition to Multichannel News and Broadcasting + Cable, his work has appeared in Radio World, TV Technology, TV Fax, This Week in Consumer Electronics, Variety and the Encyclopedia Britannica.