NATAS names Silver Circle inductees

The New York Chapter of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
(NATAS) has announced the 2002 'Silver Circle Inductees.'

The Silver Circle honors media professionals who began their careers in
broadcasting at least 25 years ago and have made significant contributions to
arts and sciences of New York television.

The announcement was made Sept. 19 by New York chapter president Maury

The inductees are:

  • Tony Brown, commentator, Tony
    Brown's Journal
  • Elizabeth Orton Davis, television and production
  • Joe Franklin, talk-show icon; tour guide of Memory Lane
  • J.J. Gonzalez, people's reporter, WCBS-TV
  • Wiley Hance, founder and charter member, NATAS
  • Lora Hays, film and video editor, Lifetime
    Television, PBS, Home Box Office, ABC, CBS
  • Bob McGrath, Sesame
  • Al Primo, creator and author of Eyewitness News
    format; currently developing kids' news programming
  • Joseph A. Reily, president and executive director,
    New York State Broadcasters Association
  • Erika Slezak, actress, One Life To Live; five-time Emmy Award-winner.