Skip to main content

Dingell to receive NAB award

Rep. John Dingell (D-Mich.) will receive the 'Grover Cobb Award' at the
National Association of Broadcasters' NAB 2002 in Las Vegas Sunday, April 7.

The NAB gives the award -- named after the association's senior executive
vice president in the 1970s -- to a 'broadcaster or public official who
demonstrates unusual dedication to improving broadcasting's relationship with
the federal government.'

Dingell, top Democrat on the House Energy and Commerce Committee, is well
acquainted with broadcasters' issues and often serves as an advocate and advisor
to broadcasters within the House of Representatives.

Dingell was elected to office in 1955, and he is the longest-serving member
in the House. He was chairman of the House Energy and Commerce Committee -- a
position now held by Rep. Billy Tauzin (R-La.) -- from 1981 until 1995, when the
Democrats lost control of the House.

The next morning, Dingell will join nine other members of Congress on a
congressional breakfast panel: Sen. Conrad Burns (R-Mont.), House Energy and
Commerce Committee vice chairman Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Sen. Michael Crapo
(R-Idaho), Rep. Gene Green (D-Texas), Rep. Darrell Issa (R-Calif.), Rep. George
Radanovich (R-Calif.), House Judiciary Committee chairman Jim Sensenbrenner
(R-Wis.), Rep. Lee Terry (R-Neb.) and Rep. Greg Walden (R-Ore.). ABC News
correspondent John Cochran will moderate.

Later that day, 12 congressional staffers will discuss broadcasters' issues
and the legislative process.

Contributing editor Paige Albiniak has been covering the business of television for nearly 25 years. She is a longtime contributor to Next TV, Broadcasting + Cable and Multichannel News. She concurrently serves as editorial director for entertainment marketing association Promax. She has written for such publications as TVNewsCheck, The New York Post, Variety, CBS Watch and more. Albiniak was B+C’s Los Angeles bureau chief from September 2002 to 2004, and an associate editor covering Congress and lobbying for the magazine in Washington, D.C., from January 1997-September 2002.