Cable-Tec Expo 2017 Draws 8,800

SCTE•ISBE announced Friday that this week's Cable-Tec Expo in Denver drew 8,800 registered attendees, down slightly from the 9,100 that the event drew in 2014, the last time Expo was held in the Mile High City.

Read More: Complete coverage of Cable-Tec Expo 2017

The Society neared the 2014 total despite ongoing industry consolidation that contributed to a decision last year by the NCTA: The Internet & Television Association and its members to sunset INTX: The Internet & Television Expo, the event formally known as The Cable Show.

Last year’s Cable-Tec Expo in Philadelphia, home to Comcast, drew more than 10,000.

SCTE•ISBE said about 22% of this year’s attendees came from outside the U.S., and 19% of the registered total were first-time attendees.

Among highlights this year in Denver, Tuesday’s half-day Remote PHY seminar drew more than 400, more than double the expected number, requiring organizers to open up two standing-room only overflow rooms.

RELATED: Ramping Up For Remote PHY

This year’s show also was home to more than 400 exhibitor booths, a number that included 75 first-time exhibitors.  There were 98 fall Technical Forum sessions, up 36% from last year’s workshop program.

“While all of the metrics around SCTE•ISBE Cable-Tec Expo 2017 were strong, what’s most important is how we’ve continued to improve the quality of the program offered to attendees,”  Mark Dzuban, president and CEO of SCTE•ISBE, said in a statement. “Thanks to the guidance of multiple supporters – most notably our program chairs, Jim Blackley and Terry Cordova; our outgoing board chair, Tony Werner; and our new board chair, Bill Warga – Expo 2017 set new standards as an event that underscores SCTE•ISBE’s role as the catalyst for new technologies that are the backbone of our industry.”

Cable-Tec Expo 2018 will be held Oct. 22-Oct. 25 at the Georgia World Congress Center in Atlanta.  Kevin Hart, executive vice president and chief product and technology officer for Cox Communications, will serve as program committee chairman for next year’s show.