Skip to main content

Winners Set For 2014 Multicultural TV Leadership Awards

Fox International Channels and the recently relaunched NUVOtv have captured the top programmer honors at the forthcoming Multicultural TV Leadership Awards, presented by Broadcasting & Cable and Multichannel News.

Hernan Lopez, president and CEO of Fox International Channels, and Michael Schwimmer, CEO of NUVOtv, are among 12 award winners who will be feted at a ceremony during the Multicultural TV Summit on Feb. 4 at the Grand Hyatt in New York. The awards recognize business executives who have contributed to the sustainable growth of multicultural TV — defined as video intended for an audience segment of a specific ethnicity, nationality, region, gender, religious affiliation or LGBT lifestyle.

Candidates were submitted in several categories and scored by a panel of impartial judges. The winners are those who received the highest collective score by category. Lopez and Schwimmer achieved identical scores for the Programmer Management Executive category.

"We are impressed by the dedication of these remarkable individuals," Louis Hillelson, vice president and group publisher of B&C and MCN, said. "It is our privilege to honor them as recipients of this year's Multicultural TV Leadership Awards."

Taking the award as agency management executive is Esther Franklin, executive vice president and head of SMG Americas Strategy for Starcom MediaVest Group. Earning pay TV management executive honors is David Rone, president of sports, news and local programming for Time Warner Cable.

Some Hispanic TV notables are also among the winners. Taking the award for Advertising Sales Executive is Telemundo Media executive VP of advertising sales Mike Rosen, while the Media Planning Executive award is being presented to Univision Communications VP of media planning and multiplatform strategy Silvia Garcia. Earning the honor of Programming Acquisition Executive is Freddy Rolon, VP of Deportes programming and business units for ESPN.

The selection process was based on the collective scores submitted by 10 judges, including Hispanic media icon Cristina Saralegui.

The Multicultural TV Leadership Summit & Awards were created and will be produced by the Schramm Marketing Group.