WICT Rocky Mountain Picks Honorees For Walk of Fame

The Women in Cable Telecommunications Rocky Mountain Chapter named 10 cable industry leaders to be honored at its annual Walk of Fame event on Thursday, May 17.

They include, as woman of the year, Cathy Kuo, chief marketing officer at WOW! Internet, Cable and Phone.

"The dynamic men and women being recognized at this year's Walk of Fame are raising the standard for leadership in our industry with their progressive thinking, selfless giving and remarkable accomplishments," Regina Hutchinson, vice president of human relations at Comcast's West Division and president of WICT Rocky Mountain, said in a release.

Hutchinson praised Kuo for her "passion for advancing our industry through customer experience. As a leader, she embodies the values and touchstones of Women in Cable Telecommunications."

The honorees were nominated through a confidential and comprehensive process by colleagues, mentors, fellow members and leaders throughout the industry.

In addition to Cathy Kuo, the honorees by category are:

Mentor of the Year: Shelly Harper, senior vice president, programming & production, Altitude Sports & Entertainment.

Teamwork in Innovation: Steve Raymond, senior vice president, national accounts, Disney ESPN Media Networks; and Joe Rooney, senior vice president, brand marketing, social media & advertising, Cox Communications.

Woman in Technology: Debbie Fitzgerald, principal architect, CableLabs. 

Women to Watch: Karen Abene, senior director, affiliate sales and support, Starz Entertainment; Keely Rose Buchanan, manager, communications, Time Warner Cable; Amy Kim, director of marketing, Charter Business; Lisa Panepinto, VP of operations analysis and planning, customer care, Comcast West Division and Angela Plomondon, senior director of video operations, national engineering & technical operations, Comcast.

The 13th annual Walk of Fame will be held at the Hyatt Regency Denver Tech Center on May 17 from 5:30 p.m. to 9 p.m., and is open to all professionals in the cable telecommunications industry. More information about the event and the honorees is at www.wictrm.org.