USA Salutes Eight ‘Characters’

NEW YORK — USA Network is honoring
eight individuals with its “Characters
Unite Award” for combating prejudice
and discrimination and promoting tolerance
and acceptance.

Honored at hometown ceremonies,
each winner gets $5,000 from USA and
participating local cable operators for a
project or non-profit organization.

Honorees and projects are:

Elke Kennedy of Greenville, S.C.,
Sean’s Last Wish; Michael Arterberry
of New Fairfield, Conn., Youth Voices
Center; Jessica Estevez of Riverview, Fla., Community Tampa Bay; Amy
Lazarus of Washington, D.C., Sustained
Dialogue Campus Network;
Milia Islam-Majeed of Chino, Calif.,
South Coast Interfaith Council; Jan
Lilly-Stewart of Charleston, W.Va.,
Fair Shake Network; Ryan Roemerman
of Des Moines, Iowa, Iowa Pride
Network; and Kyshun Webster of New
Orleans, Operation Reach.

For more, see