Skip to main content

TWC, Cox Roll Verizon Wireless Bundles Into More Markets

Time Warner Cable and Cox Communications continue to widen their “quad play” marketing agreements with Verizon Wireless, with the companies launching bundled deals in the MSOs’ markets in four states.

TWC this week is offering customers who take certain video, Internet and voice packages together with Verizon Wireless smartphones and tablets a Visa prepaid debit card valued up to $200 in cities including: Rochester, Buffalo and Albany in New York; San Diego; El Paso, San Antonio, Austin, Yuma, Laredo, Corpus Christi and Harlingen in Texas; and communities in Massachusetts.

Cox and Verizon Wireless are launching bundles offering joint customers a Visa prepaid debit card ranging from $100 to $400, depending on the type of services chosen, in Santa Barbara, Calif., and San Diego.

In December 2011, Comcast, Time Warner Cable and Bright House Networks entered into an agreement to sell Verizon Wireless their Advanced Wireless Services spectrum holdings for $3.6 billion. In addition, the operators and wireless carrier said they would sell each other's services in select areas. Cox entered into a similar arrangement with Verizon Wireless.

Under the U.S. Department of Justice Department’s approval of the partnerships, the companies are prohibited from marketing services in FiOS TV markets, which include New York City (Time Warner Cable) and Northern Virginia (Cox). The Federal Communications Commission in August granted conditional approval of the spectrum deals.

So far this year, Time Warner Cable and Verizon Wireless have kicked off joint marketing initiatives in cities in Hawaii, Kansas, Nebraska, New England, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina and Wisconsin. Cox and the wireless carrier earlier this month launched in parts of Kansas, Omaha and Northwest Arkansas after initiating their marketing agreement in the Oklahoma City and Tulsa vicinities.

Verizon Wireless provides more info on the MSO bundle offers at (opens in new tab) and (opens in new tab). The operators’ websites are and (opens in new tab).