Skip to main content

Smit Elected C-SPAN Executive Committee Chair

C-SPAN has elected Comcast Cable President Neil Smit as chairman of the C-SPAN board executive committee.

In addition, Pat McAdaragh, president and CEO of Midco, has been elected to a seat on the board.

That came at the annual board meeting. Smit has been on the executive committee since 2005.

He succeeds Pat Esser, who had served three (one-year) terms as chairman.

The committee is the subdivision of the board authorized to set strategy and oversee finances of the network, which is a public service funded by cable operators.

"We are pleased Neil Smit has committed to serve as C-SPAN Board chair and help guide our strategic direction during this time of rapid change in the media industry," said board executive chairman Brian Lamb. "We welcome Pat McAdaragh bringing a smaller operator's perspective to the Executive Committee. And we can't thank Pat Esser enough for his support and leadership, passionately pushing C-SPAN to expand our audience through social media engagement."