Skip to main content

SCTE Announces New Board Picks

The Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers (SCTE) has announced the selection of members of the SCTE Board of Directors for the upcoming 2013/2014 term.

The SCTE Board comprises seven appointed directors, each of whom serves a two-year term, and eight regional directors, who are elected for one-year terms.  The eight regional directors are selected from and elected by SCTE’s 13 regional representatives, each of whom acts on behalf of an SCTE region.

For the 2013/2014 and 2014/2015 terms, Tony Werner, executive vice president and CTO of Comcast, has been newly appointed as a director, and Terry Cordova, senior vice president and CTO of Suddenlink Communications, has been reappointed. 

Entering the second year of their terms are five other appointed members: Mike LaJoie, executive vice president and CTO of Time Warner Cable and chairman of the current 2012//2013 SCTE Board; Ralph Brown, CTO of CableLabs; Pat Crull, Ph.D., group vice president and CLO for Time Warner Cable; Jim Hughes, senior vice president, global broadband sales for CommScope; and Martha Soehren, Ph.D., chief talent development officer and senior vice president for Comcast University and Comcast Cable. 

The eight elected directors for the 2013/2014 board term are:

• George Bosak, technical training manager, Midcontinent Communications;

• Ron Hardzog Jr., executive director, video engineering, Cox Communications;

• Roger Hughes, senior engineer, Armstrong Cable Services;

• Joe Jensen, executive vice president and CTO, Buckeye CableSystem;

• Randy Love, market project manager, Comcast Cable Communications;

• Mario Massi, senior manager, permit design & approval, Cogeco Cable;

• Nick Segura, manager, network operations, Charter Communications; and,

• Rick Sullivan, Midwestern sales account manager, Times Fiber Communications/Amphenol. 

Hughes, Jensen, Segura and Sullivan serve on the current 2012/2013 SCTE Board of Directors.

Elected directors are selected from SCTE’s regional representatives.  Regional representatives for 2013/2014 are: Shane Portfolio, Comcast Cable Communications (Region 1); Nick Segura, Charter Communications (Region 2); Randy Love, Comcast Cable Communications (Region 3); Ronald Hardzog Jr., Cox Communications (Region 4); Rick Sullivan, Times Fiber Communications/Amphenol (Region 5); George Bosak, Midcontinent Communications (Region 6); Joseph Jensen, Buckeye CableSystem (Region 7); Tommy Hill (Region 8); Derrick Hanson, Cox Communications (Region 9); Bob Legg, Suddenlink Communications (Region 10); Roger Hughes, Armstrong (Region 11); Joseph Guariglia, Comcast Cable Communications (Region 12); and Mario Massi, Cogeco Cable (Canada).

The 2013/2014 board will meet for the first time and will elect officers on Monday, Oct. 21 in conjunction with SCTE Cable-Tec Expo  in Atlanta.