Roberts, Bewkes Join Cable TV Pioneers

Comcast chairman and CEO Brian Roberts and Time Warner Inc. chairman and CEO Jeffrey Bewkes are among 14 named today to the 50th anniversary class of Cable TV Pioneers. They will be inducted at a banquet in Boston ahead of the INTX convention in May. 

The new class also includes Multichannel Newstechnology columnist Leslie Ellis and three of Roberts's fellow Comcast executives.

Here is the 2016 class in alphabetical order:

Jeffrey Lawrence Bewkes, Time Warner; Charles David Cerullo of INSP; Glenn Duval of Challenger Cable Sales; Leslie Ellis of EllisEdits Inc.; Marwan Fawaz of Sarepta Partners; John Gibbs of Comcast; Steve Goldmintz of Marcum Search LLC; John E. Heslip of Comcast; Yvette Kanouff of Cisco Systems; Peter Kiley of C-SPAN Networks; Mark Lieberman of Viamedia Inc.; Mike J. Mason of Comcast; John Arthur Ogren of SpeedConnect and Brian L. Roberts of Comcast.

The group's first class, in 1966, was of 21 entrepreneurs. Since then the roster has grown beyond 700 men and women, the organization said in a release. The banquet will be held on Sunday, May 15, the night before INTX: The Internet and Television Expo kicks off. The banquet will be at the Fairmont Copley Plaza Hotel in Boston. More information is available at                            

Kent Gibbons

Kent has been a journalist, writer and editor at Multichannel News since 1994 and with Broadcasting+Cable since 2010. He is a good point of contact for anything editorial at the publications and for Before joining Multichannel News he had been a newspaper reporter with publications including The Washington Times, The Poughkeepsie (N.Y.) Journal and North County News.