NCTC Names New Board Leadership

The National Cable Television Cooperative named new board leadership Tuesday, appointing GCI Vice President of Content Bob Ormberg its new chairman. Ormberg, who previously served as vice chair of NCTC, replaces Eagle Communication CEO Gary Shorman, who will remain a member of the board.

NCTC also appointed Buckeye Broadband chief administrative officer Brad Mefferd as its new vice chairman of the board. Cable One SVP of technical services Ken Johnson was named as a new board member.

“I am pleased to welcome Bob Ormberg as our new chairman of the board,” NCTC CEO Rich Fickle said in a statement. “Bob has been an integral part of our board since 2006 and a member of the executive committee for four years. We look forward to his guidance and leadership as our evolving industry offers new opportunities for our members. I also want to thank Gary Shorman for his dedicated service as chairman. We are thrilled to welcome Brad Mefferd as our new vice chair and Ken Johnson as a new board member. Ken is a seasoned, strategic CTO. Having him on our board supported by a progressive member like Cable One will help guide NCTC efforts into additional areas to support members, including broadband, wireless and commercial services.”

Bob Ormberg

Bob Ormberg

Ormberg has more than 30 years of experience in the cable and broadband industry and has spent the past 21 years at GCI, where he has led the launch of many advanced products within the company.

“I am honored to be chosen as chairman of the NCTC board and will continue to collaborate with MSOs, content providers and technology vendors in order to better compete in today’s increasingly competitive environment,” Ormberg said in a statement. “As a board member for more than ten years, I am eager to lead this great group of innovative independent cable and broadband operators and continue to explore new ways to help our members achieve growth and success.”

Mefferd has more than 30 years of experience in the cable and broadband industry in accounting, finance, marketing, customer service, programming negotiations and overall operations management.

Brad Mefferd

Brad Mefferd

“My years of involvement with the NCTC board has been an incredible learning experience and I am excited to now take on the role of vice chair,” Mefferd said in a statement. “Our industry is faced with tremendous change. NCTC is successfully bringing its members together to facilitate solutions that will help us continue to innovate.”

Johnson, a 35-year veteran of the telecom industry, is responsible for Cable One’s strategic technology products evolution, as well as Information Technology, and Network and Engineering.

“I look forward to working with the NCTC board and helping NCTC members shape the future of cable and broadband,” Johnson said in a statement. “We operate in many varied communities throughout the country, but we all face the same increasing competition and challenges, and I am ready to work hard to find opportunities for us to better compete and succeed in today’s industry.”

The remaining members of the NCTC board are:

Katie Espeseth: EPB Chattanooga,Vice President

Rich Fickle: NCTC, President and CEO

Tom Gleason: Vast Broadband, Executive Vice President

Chris Hilliard: USA Communications, CEO

Jim Holanda: RCN/Grande, CEO

Ken Johnson: Cable ONE, Senior Vice President of Technology Services

Brian Lynch: Schurz Cable, Senior Vice President

Brad Mefferd: Buckeye Broadband, Chief Administrative Officer

Brad Moline: Allo Communications, President

Elaine Partridge: Vast Broadband, Vice President of Special Projects

Jeffrey Ross: Armstrong Cable Services, President

Wayne Schattenkerk: WaveDivision Partners, Chief Financial Officer

Gary Shorman: President and CEO, Eagle Communications

Karl Skroban: Comporium, Vice President of Video Strategy and Programming

Matt Weller: All West Communications, President

Tom Whitaker: Shentel Communications, Senior Vice President-Cable

NCTC board members commit to a three-year term and work in partnership with NCTC leaders to support its more than 750 member companies.