NCTA Announces `Vanguard' Winners

The National Cable & Telecommunications Association announced its "2003
Vanguard Awards" winners Wednesday.

A&E Television Networks president and CEO Nickolas Davatzes and Black
Entertainment Television president and chief operating officer Debra Lee will be
recognized for "Distinguished Leadership" in the cable industry, topping the
list of nine winners.

The Vanguard Awards will be presented Tuesday, June 10, at an awards ceremony
and evening reception during the National Show, which opens June 8 at McCormick
Place in Chicago.

Other Vanguard winners are:

\u0007 Young Leadership: Lynne Elander, vice president, video-product development,
Cox Communications Inc.;

\u0007 Programmers: Chris Albrecht, chairman and CEO, Home Box Office;

\u0007 Associates and Affiliates: John D. Clark Jr., president and CEO, Society of
Cable Telecommunications Engineers;

\u0007 Science and Technology: Mark Coblitz, senior VP, strategic planning,
Comcast Corp.;

\u0007 Cable Operations Management: Gary T. McCollum, VP and general manager,

\u0007 Government and Community Relations: Richard H. Beahrs, president and COO,
Courtroom Television Network; and

\u0007 Marketing: Kevin J. Leddy, senior VP, strategy and development, Time Warner