First Batch of 'Premio lo Nuestro’ Artists Confirmed

Univision has started to set the lineup for the 28th edition of Premio Lo Nuestro, with bachata sensation Prince Royce, reggaetón star Yandel and veteran songstress Thalía confirmed to perform at the network’s Feb. 18 celebration.

Univision also tapped veteran Colombian artist Carlos Vives to receive the “Premio Lo Nuestro a la Excelencia” award for career achievements. Vives is the winner of five Premio lo Nuestro awards and is nominated this year in the Video of the Year category for the song “Tierra del olvido.”

Premio lo Nuestro will air from Miami’s American Airlines Arena on Feb. 18 at 8 p.m. ET, following an hour-long pre-awards special. West Coast viewers can watch a delayed broadcast at 8 p.m. PT.

Also set to perform are Latin urban act Gente de Zona, nominated under the Tropical category for Group or Duo of the Year and Video of the Year; regional Mexican artist Gerardo Ortiz, who is nominated in four categories: Regional Mexican Song of the Year, Male Artist of the Year, Norteño Artist of the Year, and Album of the Year in the general category; and urban reggaeton singer Maluma.

Prince Royce is nominated in the Tropical music category for Album of the Year, Song of the Year, Male Artist of the Year, and Artist of the Year; Thalía is nominated for Album of the Year and Female Artist of the Year in the pop/rock category; and Yandel is nominated for Artist of the Year in the urban music category.

Unlike the Latin Grammys, winners of Premio Lo Nuestro a la Música Latina are chosen by popular vote. Nominees are determined based on U.S. Latin airplay data provided by Mediabase/Media Monitors, Big Champagne and Buzz Angle Music, with an eligibility period of Sept. 1, 2014 to Aug. 30, 2015.

Fans were able to vote for their favorites from Dec. 1-20, 2015 at

Univision will announce more performers and presenters over the coming weeks.