FCC Nominees Confirmed by Senate

Republicans control the Federal Communications Commission for the first time
in eight years after the Senate confirmed President Bush's four nominees Friday

Senate Commerce Committee spokeswoman Pia Pialorsi said Bush's picks were
approved by unanimous consent, meaning approval without opposition or recorded

Confirmed were current FCC chairman Michael Powell for a second five-year
term, as well as Republicans Kevin Martin and Kathleen Abernathy and Democrat
Michael Copps.

Powell now has a one-vote majority to enact his agenda of FCC reorganization,
tougher rule enforcement and media-ownership deregulation.

Departing the FCC are Republican member Harold Furchtgott-Roth, who has
accepted a position at the American Enterprise Institute, and Democrat Susan
Ness, who has not announced her future plans.

FCC member Gloria Tristani, a Democrat, plans to leave the commission later
this year. She told a reporter this week that she plans to run for the U.S.
Senate in her home state of New Mexico against five-term incumbent Republican
Pete Domenici.