Skip to main content

ESPN Deportes Nabs Rights to ‘Veracruz 2014’

Featuring  31 countries from across Latin America and the Caribbean, including Puerto Rico, the XXII Central American and Caribbean Games kicked off Nov. 14 from the gulf-side city of Veracruz, Mexico, with an opening ceremony headlined by Latin pop superstar Ricky Martin.

Coverage of the ceremony and the month-long multi-sport event can be found on ESPN Deportes, through the closing ceremonies on Nov. 30.

“The Central American and Caribbean Games have become one of the most-recognized sports events in Latin America and a window for young, upcoming athletes to showcase their abilities in anticipation of the Pan American and the Olympic Games,” ESPN Deportes general manager Lino Garcia said. “We are excited to deliver the Games to our audience, giving viewers the opportunity to follow and cheer for their countries and favorite sports disciples.”

ESPN Deportes will provide daily live coverage, recaps, special reports and in-depth segments. In addition, former Mexican national diver Cristina Millan will provide insight from the athlete’s perspective. Tlatoani Carrera and Leon Lecanda will serve as the network’s on-site reporters.

The Central American and Caribbean Games are the oldest continuing regional games in the world after the Olympics. The regional event, unknown to many Americans, showcases athletes in sports disciplines such as boxing, soccer, gymnastics, baseball, basketball, beach volleyball, cycling, swimming and diving.

Twelve of the CAC sport disciplines serve as qualifying rounds for the Toronto 2015 Pan American Games.

Highlights of ESPN Deportes’ coverage includes the Nov. 20 soccer match between the men’s national teams of Mexico and El Salvador, and the Nov. 22 match between Mexico and Jamaica. Both matches start at 10 p.m. (ET)/7 p.m. (PT).

The soccer final will be televised on Nov. 28 at 8 p.m. (ET)/5 p.m. (PT); closing ceremonies are set for Nov. 30 at 7 p.m. (ET)/4 p.m. (PT).