Comcast's Watson Stays Atop C-SPAN Exec Committee

C-SPAN's board of directors has tapped Comcast Cable President Dave Watson for a second term as chairman of the executive committee. The committee sets stategy and oversees finances for the public affairs network funded as a public service by the cable industry.

Comcast Cable's Dave Watson

Comcast Cable's Dave Watson

Cable One President Julie Laulis and WOW! CEO Teresa Elder have been elected to full two-year terms. Both had joined the call earlier this year. Laulis is also a trustee of the C-SPAN Education Foundation.

Rich Fickle, president of NCTC, and Jeffrey DeMond, president of Vyve Broadband, were re-elected to serve two-year terms on the board.

John Evans, chairman of Evans Telecommications, was elected to another three-year term as a senior director. He has been on the board since C-SPAN's founding in 1978.

Contributing editor John Eggerton has been an editor and/or writer on media regulation, legislation and policy for over four decades, including covering the FCC, FTC, Congress, the major media trade associations, and the federal courts. In addition to Multichannel News and Broadcasting + Cable, his work has appeared in Radio World, TV Technology, TV Fax, This Week in Consumer Electronics, Variety and the Encyclopedia Britannica.