CIC Names Advisory Board

Cable in the Classroom Thursday announced the members of its National Education Advisory Board.

CIC said the NEAB will serve as advisors on a regular basis on issues key to the cable industry’s work in education.

The NEAB’s members are:

• Dale Allender, associate executive director, National Council of Teachers of English;

• Sandra Calvert, director, Children’s Digital Media Center, Georgetown University;

• Tom Carroll, president, National Commission on Teaching and America’s Future;

• Milton Chen, executive director, The George Lucas Education Foundation;

• Sue Collins, principal, CollinsConsults;

• Ann Lee Flynn, director of education technology, National School Boards Association;

• Mila Fuller, director of strategic initiatives, International Society for Technology in Education;

• Tracy Gray, principal research analyst, American Institutes for Research;

• Betty Hale, president, Institute for Educational Leadership;

• Sharnell Jackson, chief e-learning officer, office of technology service, Chicago Public Schools;

• Henry Jenkins, director, program in comparative media studies, Massachusetts Institute of Technology;

• McLean King, superintendent, Encinitas Union School District;

• Tim Magner, deputy executive director, education technology and information, Council of Chief State School Officers;

• Bob Moore, executive director, information technology, Blue Valley School District;

• Lan Neugent, assistant superintendent for technology and human resources, Virginia Department of Education;

• Linda Polin, professor of education and technology, Pepperdine University;

• Susan Patrick, CEO, North American Council for Online Learning;

• Linda Roberts, consultant;

• Bill Rust, research director, Gartner Inc.;

• Steve Sanchez, consultant;

• Burck Smith, CEO, Smarthinking;

• Julie Walker, executive director, American Association of School Librarians;

• Anna Weselak, president, National PTA;

• Frank Withrow, president, A Better Learning Experience Co.; and

• Julie Young, executive director, Florida Virtual School.