Skip to main content

CEA Announces DTV Academy Awards Nominees

The Consumer Electronics Association Wednesday announced the nominees for its "2003 Academy of Digital Television Pioneers Awards."

The 2003 DTV Academy Awards presentation will be held during the CEA's Eighth Annual HDTV Summit: Partnership, Policy and Profits at the Washington, D.C., Convention Center Monday, March 29.

The nominees are:

• Best DTV Broadcast Network: ABC, CBS, HDNet.

• Best Local DTV Broadcaster: KING, WETA, WRAL.

• Best DTV Cable System: Comcast Corp., Cox Communications Inc., Time Warner Cable.

• Best DTV Satellite Service: DirecTV Inc., EchoStar Communications Corp., Voom.

• Best DTV Satellite Programmer: Discovery Communications Inc., Home Box Office, HDNet.

• Best DTV Sporting Event: ABC Monday Night Football, ABC Super Bowl XXXVII, CBS College Football.

• Best Original DTV Material: ABC MNF, CBS CSI: Miami, CBS Grammy Awards.

• Best DTV Leadership (Industry): Bryan Burns, ESPN; Mark Cuban, HDNet; John Taylor, Zenith Electronics Corp.

• Best DTV Leadership (Government): Rep. Rick Boucher (D-Va.), Rep. Lee Terry (R-Neb.), Federal Communications Commission chairman Michael Powell.

• Best DTV Leadership (Retailer): Best Buy Co. Inc., Circuit City Stores Inc., Sears, Roebuck & Co.

Best DTV Journalism: TV Technology, TWICE, USA Today.

• The People's Choice Award: ABC MNF, CBS CSI: Miami, HBO Six Feet Under.