Cable-Tec Expo: Comcast’s Ed Marchetti Named SCTE•ISBE Member of the Year

Denver -- At its annual awards luncheon here Wednesday, SCTE•ISBE honored Comcast Cable’s Ed Marchetti as the organization’s Member of the Year, while two other industry vets – David Fellows and Dr. Rickey Luke – were inducted to the SCTE•ISBE Hall of Fame.

Read More: Complete coverage of Cable-Tec Expo 2017

Member of the Year, and David Fellows of Layer3 TV and Dr. Rickey Luke of Cable TV of East Alabama are the newest inductees into the SCTE•ISBE Hall of Fame, the Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers (SCTE) and its global arm, the International Society of Broadband Experts (ISBE), announced today.

A Society member since 1994, Marchetti is the senior vice president of technical operations for Comcast and has been a staunch advocate for SCTE•ISBE and its training mission, engaging Comcast’s engineering and technical operations with his nationwide ambassador program, the organization said.

Marchetti is also helping Comcast to realize maximum benefit from its SCTE•ISBE Corporate Alliance Partnership, the organization said.

Among the new Hall of Famers, Fellows is a co-founder and current CTO of Denver-based next-gen MVPD Layer3 TV and a former Comcast CTO. He is a pioneer who has been instrumental in bringing fiber optics and digital technology into the satellite and cable industry, and helped to achieve that when he was president of the transmission systems business division for Scientific Atlanta (now part of Cisco Systems) from 1987 to 1992.

Fellows, a longtime chair of the Society’s Data Standards Subcommittee, also received the SCTE•ISBE Excellence in Standards Award at this year’s luncheon.

Fellow HoF inductee Luke is CTO and vice president, engineering at Cable TV of East Alabama, and a 45-year vet of the cable industry. He is credited for being active in deploying fiber architecture while the technology was still in the early stages of development.

Other awards bestowed by the Society this week include:

-Guavus earned the Society’s Innovators Award for its Reflex platform, which provides critical context and the ability to predict outcomes with deterministic data.

-Comcast University’s Dr. Martha Soehren was presented with the Chairman’s Award by the outgoing chair of the Society’s board of directors, Tony Werner of Comcast Cable. Dr. Soehren is chief talent development officer and senior vice president of Comcast Cable Communications.

-Deborah Picciolo, senior vice president of the west region, Charter Communications, was the recipient of the Women in Technology Award, which is presented each year by WICT, SCTE•ISBE, and Cablefax.

-Rolando Barja, director, redes coaxiales, COTAS RL, will be presented with the International Engineering Professional Award on Friday (October 20) at the ISBE International Attendee Breakfast.

-Lisa Leaunvankham, procurement analyst 2 (NGAN), Comcast Cable Communications, received the inaugural Rising Leader Award during the Member Appreciation Reception on Tuesday.

-Two professionals gained Senior Member recognition during Tuesday’s Member Appreciation Reception: Jason Hibbard, director of engineering, Comcast Cable Communications, and Daniel Howard, director of consulting services, Hitachi Energy & Environmental Efficiency.

-The Society’s South and Central Americas Meeting Group was elevated to Chapter status during the Chapter Leaders Breakfast on Wednesday morning.

-Ron Hranac, technical leader, engineering, Cisco Systems, was presented at the luncheon with the David Hall Award for Best Presentation 2017, an honor bestowed by the Society for Broadband Professionals and typically presented each year at this sister organization’s annual gala, in London.