Skip to main content

BET Honors Magic Johnson, Blige, Perry

BET will pay homage to NBA legend Ervin “Magic” Johnson, singer/songwriter Mary J. Blige and actor/playwright Tyler Perry and several other prominent African-Americans as part of its annual BET Honors event next month.

The show, which honors standout African-American individuals across several business and entertainment categories, will take place Jan. 17 in Washington D.C. and will air Feb. 9 on BET as part of the network's Black History Month programming lineup, BET said.

Former Los Angeles Lakers' star Johnson will receive the network's corporate citizen award, while Perry — creator of TBS's comedy series Tyler Perry's House of Payne and star/producer of such theatrical films as Madea's Family Reunion — will take home the media award. Multi-Grammy winner Blige will be recognized with an entertainment honor, according to the network.

Also receiving honors during the event will be Judith Jameson (education); B. Smith (entrepreneur); and Rep. James Clyburn (public service.)

Last year's inaugural Honors show showcased such executives as former Time Warner CEO Richard Parsons; model/entertainer Tyra Banks; Rep. Maxine Waters; educator Cornell West; and singer/songwriter/actress Alicia Keys. That show's Feb. 22 premiere drew 1.1 million viewers, according to Nielsen Media Research.