ABC Orders Nine Series For Fall

With the writers’ strike expected to end this week, at least one broadcast network has tipped its hand about its plans, with ABC Monday announcing it was bringing back nine series for the new season next fall.

ABC Entertainment has picked up Brothers & Sisters, Desperate Housewives, Dirty Sexy Money, Grey’s Anatomy,  Lost,  Private Practice,  Pushing Daisies,  Samantha Who? and Ugly Betty.

Dirty Sexy Money, Private Practice, Pushing Daisies and Samantha Who? were new show this season, while the others were veteran hits.

Production on of a number of these shows, such as Grey’s Anatomy and Lost, for this season was cut short by the Writers Guild of America strike. But it appears that ABC will be making the so-called “back end” of those series orders.

“The shows that didn’t complete their production order due to the strike, when the strike is over will complete their production order for this season,” an ABC spokesman said. “We haven’t figured out when they’re going to start airing. Nothing has been scheduled, but they will complete their production order for this season.”