RTDNA Honors WFAA-TV's Dale Hansen

Veteran WFAA-TV Dallas sports anchor Dale Hansen will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Radio Television Digital News Association.

The award will be handed out March 13 in Washington.

Dale Hansen

Dale Hansen

"Dale Hansen is nothing less than a Texas institution," said Dave Lougee, president of WFAA-TV owner TEGNA. "His contributions to sports broadcasting simply cannot be overstated. His excellence in reporting and straight-shooting commentaries have made indelible marks on our industry and our nation's civic discourse."

It is only the latest honor for the iconic sportscaster. As part of the team that investigated the SMU football "pay for play" scandal, Hansen shared a Peabody Award and duPont-Columbia Silver Baton.

Hansen also was honored at an LGBT event in Dallas in 2014 for a commentary on University of Missouri athlete Michael Sam's decision to announce he was gay.

His other awards include two time AP Sportscaster of the Year, UPI's Best Sportscaster, Texas Sportscaster of the Year, and American Women in Radio and Television's TV Personality of the Year.

John Eggerton

Contributing editor John Eggerton has been an editor and/or writer on media regulation, legislation and policy for over four decades, including covering the FCC, FTC, Congress, the major media trade associations, and the federal courts. In addition to Multichannel News and Broadcasting + Cable, his work has appeared in Radio World, TV Technology, TV Fax, This Week in Consumer Electronics, Variety and the Encyclopedia Britannica.