NBC Universal, Suddenlink Reach Carriage Agreement

NBC Universal said Tuesday that it has reached a comprehensive multi-year affiliation agreement with Suddenlink Communications, allowing the St. Louis-based MSO to carry the content giant’s entire portfolio of broadcast and cable networks.

The agreement includes expansive rights to carry the 2014 Winter Olympics as well as on-demand content from NBCUniversal’s cable and broadcast network portfolio, and access to live channels across multiple platforms, both in and out of the home.

In addition, the comprehensive agreement covers retransmission consent for NBC and Telemundo owned stations and continued carriage of all NBCUniversal’s cable networks including USA, Bravo Media, cloo, Chiller, CNBC, G4, MSNBC, mun2, NBC Sports Network, Oxygen Media, Syfy, Telemundo Media and Universal HD as well as Comcast SportsNet Bay Area, Comcast SportsNet California and Comcast SportsNet Mid Atlantic.

“We are thrilled to continue our successful and long standing partnership with Suddenlink,” said NBC Universal executive vice president, content distribution, Matt Bond in a statement. “This agreement underscores our commitment to TV Everywhere and I’m pleased Suddenlink appreciates the value our strong portfolio of broadcast stations, cable networks and Olympics coverage delivers to their subscribers.”

“We’re excited about the opportunity to continue featuring NBCUniversal networks and stations on our cable line ups, under an agreement that is fair and reasonable to our customers,” said Suddenlink senior vice president and chief programming officer, Patty McCaskill in a statement. “Among other things, this agreement allows us to enhance our Suddenlink2GO service, which give our customers the ability to enjoy popular programs on multiple devices, inside and outside their homes.”

Suddenlink is the seventh-largest cable system operator in the U.S. and offers television, high-speed Internet and telephony services to over 1.4 million residential and commercial customers, primarily in Texas, West Virginia, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Arkansas and Louisiana.