NARUC Names Burke New Telecommunications Committee Chair

The National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners has named John Burke to chair its telecommunications committee effective Jan. 17.
Burke, a member of the Vermont Public Service Board, has been a member of the committee for the past decade. He succeeds Ray Baum as chair. Baum was named last week to be senior policy adviser to the House Communications Subcommittee headed by Greg Walden (R-Ore.)

The telecommunications committee works with the FCC and other agencies on issues like universal service reform, broadband deployment.