The Independent Show: NCTC Elects New Directors

The National Cable Television Cooperative elected Gordon Bourne, Jim Holanda and Brian Lynch as new members of its board of directors at the annual members’ meeting convened at The Independent Show in San Diego.

John Higginbotham, superintendent of the Frankfort (Ky.) Plant Board, was re-elected to a three year term after joining the board in 2011 to fill an unexpired term. Newly elected were Bourne, the vice president of programming at Suddenlink; Holanda, the CEO of Choice Telecom, Grande Communications and RCN (the latter two ABRY Partners investments); and Lynch, president of Antietam Cable Television and VP of cable operations at parent company Schurz Communications.

NCTC’s board consists of 14 voting directors. NCTC president and CEO Rich Fickle is a non-voting board member, as is Tom Gleason of Clarity Telecom. In addition to the board, other NCTC members also serve on a technical advisory board and a marketing advisory group.

Following the 2013 election, the NCTC board members are:

Edward T. Holleran, Jr., Atlantic Broadband, NCTC chairman; William (Bill) C. Beaty, Jr., Comporium Communications; NCTC vice chairman; Gerald (Jerry) W. McKenna, Cable One, Inc., NCTC immediate past chairman; Bourne; Fickle (non-voting); Gleason (non-voting); Higginbotham; Chris Hilliard, USA Companies; Holanda; Lynch; Brad Mefferd, Buckeye Cablevision; Robert (Bob) Ormberg, GCI; Jeffrey Ross, Armstrong Cable Services; Wayne Schattenkerk, Wave Division Holdings; Gary Shorman, Eagle Communications and Peter C. Smith, Wide Open West.

Kent Gibbons

Kent has been a journalist, writer and editor at Multichannel News since 1994 and with Broadcasting+Cable since 2010. He is a good point of contact for anything editorial at the publications and for Before joining Multichannel News he had been a newspaper reporter with publications including The Washington Times, The Poughkeepsie (N.Y.) Journal and North County News.