Skip to main content

HBO PPV Drops Flag On Orders For NASCAR's June 8 'Prelude To A Dream'

HBO Pay-Per-View will begin taking orders for its coverage of the seventh annual Prelude to the Dream NASCAR charity event on Monday.
Carrying a suggested retail of $24.95, the event, which begins June 8 at 8 p.m. (ET), with an immediate replay following, will showcase stars from the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR Nationwide Series, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series and the NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series from Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio. All will join two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Tony Stewart in piloting 2,300-pound dirt late model stock cars capable of putting out more than 800 horsepower.
Prelude to the Dream is a team event. There is still an individual race winner, but there is also a race within the race, with the field broken up into four teams, each representing a children's hospital. The payout is tied to the PPV proceeds with the winning team receiving 30% of the net proceeds, while the runner-up gets 25% and the third- and fourth-place teams both get 20% to donate.
The lowest team score wins, with only the top-five drivers from each team recording scores. For example, if one team has finishes of first, fourth, seventh, 11th and 18th, respectively, from its top-five drivers, its score will be 41. In the event of a tie, the sixth driver will be scored.
Here are the squads for the Prelude to the Dream PPV charity event:
Team Levine: Jimmie Johnson, Denny Hamlin, Bill Elliott, David Reutimann, Austin Dillon, Ray Evernham and Cruz Pedregon.
Team Atlanta: Ryan Newman, Carl Edwards, Clint Bowyer, Joey Logano, Ken Schrader, David Gilliland and Ron Capps.
Team St. Louis: Kyle Busch, Kasey Kahne, Bobby Labonte, Justin Allgaier, Kenny Wallace, Ron Hornaday and Ricky Carmichael.
Team Dallas: Stewart, Matt Kenseth, Brian Vickers, Marcos Ambrose, Aric Almirola, Tony Kanaan and Dave Blaney.