FiOS TV Targets Dolan's Home Town

Verizon continues to turn up the heat in Cablevision’s backyard, winning a franchise for its FiOS TV service in the Long Island village of Oyster Bay Cove, N.Y., where Cablevision chairman Charles Dolan lives. 

The Oyster Bay Cove Board of Trustees granted a video franchise to Verizon Tuesday. Verizon now counts 77 cable franchises in New York.

As with all local franchise approvals in New York, the agreement between Verizon and Oyster Bay Cove is subject to review by the New York State Public Service Commission.

FiOS TV still isn’t available in most of New York City, where Time Warner Cable is the incumbent cable TV operator. To date, the telephone company has focused most of its deployments in the state on New York suburbs, where it is competing with Cablevision, Time Warner Cable and Comcast.

“Cablevision competes successfully every day for television, Internet and phone customers by offering the most technologically advanced products at the best value, without the strings or surprises customers have come to expect from our competitors,” spokesman Patrick MacElroy said in a statement.

Communities in New York that have granted Verizon pay TV franchises are Massapequa Park, Cedarhurst, Laurel Hollow, Lynbrook, Mineola, East Rockaway, Farmingdale, Valley Stream, Freeport, Williston Park, New Hyde Park, Sands Point, Bayville, Old Field, Floral Park, South Floral Park, Garden City, Nissequogue, Poquott, East Williston, Head of the Harbor, Mill Neck, Stewart Manor, Centre Island, Malverne, Huntington Bay and The Branch; the towns of North Hempstead, Huntington, Smithtown, Hempstead, Oyster Bay and Islip.

Verizon also has video franchises in the Orange County town of Newburgh; in the Westchester County communities of Ardsley, Dobbs Ferry, Tarrytown, Irvington, the Town of Greenburgh, Eastchester, Mount Kisco, Elmsford, Port Chester, Tuckahoe, White Plains, Rye Brook, North Castle, Mount Vernon, Mount Pleasant, Yonkers, Scarsdale, Bronxville, New Rochelle, Cortlandt, Peekskill, Buchanan, Rye, Larchmont, the village of Mamaroneck, the town of Mamaroneck and Pelham Manor; and in the Rockland County communities of Nyack, South Nyack, Upper Nyack, Grandview-on- Hudson, Clarkstown, Orangetown, Piermont, Airmont, the town of Haverstraw, West Haverstraw, Chestnut Ridge, Spring Valley, the village of Haverstraw, Suffern and Hillburn.