Skip to main content

CTAM Summit: Mark Awards Celebrate 25th Anniversary

Boston--CTAM celebrated the 25th anniversary of the Mark Awards in Ballroom B at the Hynes Convention Center this evening.

Originally, the Mark Awards' primary mission was to educate an emerging industry about its best marketing practices. While education remains a key component, the Mark Awards have evolved over the years to also honoring exemplary creative and strategy.

During the past quarter century, nearly 30,000 entries have yielded over 1,600 gold winners. This year, there are 56 new gold and 116 silver winners from over 900 total entries. Time Warner Cable’s Sir Charge campaign was the Top of the Mark winner.

The event was hosted by Rainbow Media president Ed Carroll, and feature a performance from comedy troupe The Whitest Kids U’Know (via IFC), along with VIP presenters from Cox, Fine Living, HBO, History Channel, Scripps Networks, Showtime and Time Warner Cable.

Cablevision COO Tom Rutledge was the 2008 GrandTAM winner. He was recognized for his time, talent and commitment to ensuring the future of cable through marketing, education and leadership.

“His leadership at NCTA and CableLabs is guiding the industry through a new era of change,” CTAM president Char Beales said.

Also honored, this year’s TAMI Award winners: Linda Finney of truTV, Paul Hockenbury of Comcast, Doug Hurst of Scripps Networks, Heather McCallion of NBC Universal and Reece Ritter of Cox Communications.

The Raimmaker Award winners were: Time Warner Cable’s Bob Benya, Comcast’s Caroline Brown, HSN’s Sean Bunner, Rentrak’s Carol Hinnant, Time Warner Cable’s Kurt Fennell, Bright House Networks Jennifer Mooney and Time Warner Cable’s Scott McKeen.

Breaking with tradition, no individual won the CTAM Chairman's Award. Instead, show chairman Joe Rooney presented the honor to the organization's 15 CTAM chapters.

Local executives, who volunteer their time to run chapters, are being honored for their "exceptional efforts to engage and educate members about the industry and the marketing of its products and services," according to CTAM.

The Gold and Silver Mark Award Winners


Bigelow Advertising for Time Warner Cable

Bright House Networks

Cablevision Systems Corp.

Charter Communications

Comcast – CT/West Region

Comcast Cable

Comcast North Central Division

Cox Business

Cox Business – Northern Virginia

Cox Communications

Cox Communications – New England

Cox Communications – Omaha


Mediacom Communications

Optimum Lightpath

Rogers Cable Communications

Time Warner Cable

Time Warner Cable Business Class

Time Warner Cable Mid-Ohio Division

Time Warner Cable, Buffalo Division

UPC Broadband

Networks and Content Providers


A&E Television Networks

ABC Family


Astral Media – The Movie Network


Canwest Broadcasting

Civic Entertainment Group

Discovery Communications

Discovery Health

Discovery Networks U.S. Hispanic Group

Disney Channel

Food Network

Fox Business Network

Fox Cable Networks

Fuseideas for HBO


Hallmark Channel




MTV Networks

MTV Networks Creative Services

MTV On-Air Promos

National Geographic Channel

NBC Universal TV Networks Distribution

Nicktoons Network

Outdoor Channel


Planet Studio

Scripps Networks

Showtime Networks

Starz Entertainment

Sundance Channel

Tennis Channel

The Weather Channel

Travel Channel Media

Turner Broadcasting System

Turner Broadcasting – TCM



Warner Bros. Domestic Television Distribution


World Wrestling Entertainment

Click here for more CTAM Summit coverage.