Comcast’s Steve Murphy Nets SCTE Member Of Year Award

ATLANTA -- SCTE Cable-Tec Expo 2013 -- The Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers (SCTE) handed out its annual awards here Tuesday, including its Member of the Year and its newest Hall of Fame Inductee.

The SCTE Member of the Year Award went to Steve Murphy, senior manager, compliance, with Comcast Cable in Colorado. Recognized as the SCTE member who has made the most significant contributions to the Society in the past year, Murphy distinguished himself by excelling in his role as treasurer for his local chapter, the SCTE Rocky Mountain Chapter, and as an active member of the finance committee, the SCTE said.

The SCTE Hall of Fame named Rick Sullivan as its inductee for 2013. An industry veteran with more than 30 years of experience and an SCTE member since 1995, Sullivan, of Omaha, Neb., is an account manager with Time Fiber Communications/Amphenol. He is the Regional Representative for SCTE Region 5 and a member of the SCTE Board of Directors.

Additionally, outgoing SCTE chairman of the board Mike LaJoie, executive vice president and chief technology and network operations officer, Time Warner Cable, selected Jim Hughes of CommScope as the recipient of this year’s SCTE Chairman’s Award. Hughes is a member of the SCTE board of directors, for which he is the newly elected secretary. His day job is senior vice president, global broadband sales at CommScope.

Other annual award winners included:

-SCTE Standards Award: Bryan Santangelo, vice president of software architecture at This Technology. Santangelo chaired the SCTE Digital Video Subcommittee DVS629 drafting group that was responsible for the documents that became the SCTE 130 suite of advanced advertising standards.

-SCTE Senior Members: Tim Cooke of Times Fiber Communications and Gary Ervin of Ervin Cable Construction. SCTE Senior Membership status recognizes their technical competence, active participation in Society and industry affairs, and high standards of professionalism.

-Women in Technology Award: Stephanie Mitchko-Beale, senior vice president, video infrastructure software, with Cablevision Systems, and a key developer of the MSO’s cloud-based Multi-Room DVR service.

-The Gold and Silver SCTE Safety Awards were presented this year to several industry organizations, which are all listed here.